Procter & Gamble & Satan – #86 of 100 Top Hoaxes

In the late 1990s, when I had my first email address, I started getting forwards. When they were new to me I used to enjoy them. They were filled with amusing anecdotes and touching stories, but there was one in particular that bummed me out, because, dammit, I love Pringles.

The email went like this:

PLEASE MAKE A DIFFERENCEThe President of Procter & gamble appeared on the Phil Donahue Show on March 1, 1994. He announced that due to the openness of our society, he was coming out of the closet about his association with the church of Satan. He stated that a large portion of his profits from Procter & Gamble Products goes to support this satanic church. When asked by Donahue if stating this on t.v. would hurt his business, he replied, “THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH CHRISTIANS IN THE UNITED STATES TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE.”

Product list includes:
[snipped the long list of P&G Products]

If you are not sure about the product, look for a Procter & Gamble written on the products, or the symbol of a ram’s horn, which will appear on each product beginning on April. The ram’s horn will form the 666, which is known as Satan’s number. Christians should remember that if they purchase any of these products, they will be contributing to the church of Satan. Inform other Christians about this and STOP buying Procter & Gamble Products. Let’s show Procter & Gamble that there are enough Christians to make a difference. On a previous Merv Griffin Show, the owner of Procter & Gamble said that if Satan would prosper he would give his heart and soul to him. Then he gave Satan credit for his riches.

Anyone interested seeing this tape, should send $3.00 to:
DONAHUE TRANSCRIPTS, JOURNAL GRAPHICS
26 BROADWAY NEW YORK, N. Y. 10007

WE URGE YOU TO MAKE COPIES OF THIS AND PASS IT ON TO AS MANY PEOPLE AS POSSIBLE. THIS NEEDS TO STOP. LIZ CLAIRBORNE ALSO PROFESSES TO WORSHIP SATAN AND RECENTLY OPENLY ADMITTED ON THE OPRAH WINFREY SHOW THAT HALF OF HER PROFITS GO TOWARDS THE CHURCH OF SATAN.

I was a Christian at the time, and I also pretty much took anything I read in an email from a friend at face value. I was only 13 or 14, after all. What a bummer, now I would have to check every product I used to make sure I wasn’t supporting Satanism.

Thankfully, the claims are simply not true, and I will continue to enjoy my favourite snack.

See a list of hoaxes counted down so far after the jump.

100. Bridezilla Freaks Out About Her Hairdo
99. The Joe Schmo Show
98. The Crying Indian
97. Ivar’s Underwater Billboards
96. Well to Hell
95. Great Comics Switcheroonie
94. American Cannibal
93. Nacirema Tribe
92. Indian Rope Trick
91. Eruption of Mount Edgecumbe
90. Republic of San Serriffe
89. Sydney Iceberg
88. Donald Crowhurst
87. Forgotten Silver
86. Procter & Gamble & Satan

6 Responses to “Procter & Gamble & Satan – #86 of 100 Top Hoaxes”


  1. 1 Memory G.Q October 25, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I’ve been A Christian my whole life and I know the difference between love and evil hate and happiness. I just read this and my gut dropped I will never in the name of God OUR LORD buy proctor and gamble products and I will spread the word and God will do what has to be done to the devil worshipers.

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ October 31, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Umm…you totally missed the point of the post.

  3. 3 wondering raven May 12, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    I seen the show for myself when it aired and so did the whole congregation of the church I attended in which we all boycotted P&G. So it is not a rumor!!! Those who choose to mislead those for selfishness will reap ten fold for their errors.

  4. 4 Jeff July 31, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    THE PERSON THAT WORTE THIOS STORY IS WORNG IT IS NOT A HOAX IT IS TRUE HE HAS THE YEARS OFF BY 10 IT WAS IN 1980;S ALSO PROCTOR & GAMBLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE FISRT BAR CODE

  5. 5 Rachel November 29, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    It not a hoax, I saw myself show , when came out in Donhue myself. It is true this another way that satan, making you believe that he doesnt exist. She sure totally miss the point… you got that right, I guess her seeds had no roots, they where sown on rocky ground.

  6. 6 Corky February 7, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Lmao American Christians are clearly mental. So what if they support Satan, the American people supported Bush for 2 terms so shouldn’t they all go to hell to for supporting mass genocide? Just saying.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other subscribers
AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!