I’m Back!

It’s been awhile since I posted and that’s because I’ve been in Europe, see?:

Europe

At the Royal Observatory in Greenwich

We went to England where we mostly stayed in London (we also visited Bath, Stonehenge and Windsor Castle), France where we stayed in Lille for two days while we visited WWI sites in France and Belgium, and then we spent a day in Paris (which was plenty), and then we went to Dresden, Germany to visit family.

It was a jam-packed trip so there was no time for blogging, but I tried to keep up on the news and there’s lots I’d like to blog about when I get the chance. I also got some comments and email feedback, so I’ll try to get around to responding to those. Of course, I’m moving into our new house in just over a week so I won’t have a lot of time to spend here but I’ll do my best!

Before I go I just want to quickly pass along something that reader Carlos sent me while I was away, I think all religions should teach this:

Kalama Sutta

Do not believe anything (simply)
because you have heard it.
Do not believe in traditions because they
have been handed down for many generations.
Do not believe in anything (simply) because it is
spoken and rumoured by many.
Do not believe in anything (simply) because
it is found written in your religious books.
Do not believe in anything merely on the authority
of your teachers and elders.
But after observation and analysis,
when you find anything that agrees with reason
and is conducive to the good and benefit of one and all
then accept it and live up to it.

Buddha
(Anguttara Nikaya, Vol 1, 188 – 193 P.T.S. Ed.)
2 Responses to “I’m Back!”


  1. 1 Spokeshave. August 23, 2010 at 5:42 am

    Welcome back, To the blogosphere, that is. I’m glad you enjoyed your trip to see us in Europe. When visiting Stonehenge you were only 15 miles from where we lived until six years ago.

    It’ll be exciting moving into your new house. I hope it goes well.

    “Lots to blog about” sounds interesting. We’re ready and waiting when you can find time.

    Terry.

  2. 2 kevinbbg August 23, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Welcome back, Europe is a great place. I live in California but my wife and I flew out to Glascow, then drove over to Edinburgh where we got married back in 1991. Then we drove all over England and spent 3 days in Paris. It was a great honeymoon.

    Loved the sutta from the Buddha. I was a Buddhist for a few years but grew out of it, but I think Siddhartha never intended Buddhism to be a religion, but a philosophy. People turned it into a religion centuries after his death.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

