Enlightning Bolts – 07.05.2010 – Female Bloggers Edition

I recently posted a list of skeptical female bloggers (and websites, podcasts, etc.) and have been slowly making my way through them reading what they have to say. So I thought I would make a special Enlightning Bolts to highlight some of the posts I’ve been enjoying…

***

Rachael posted a positive story about how kids’ perceptions of scientists changed after they met some scientists.

***

Angie the Anti-Theist has an interesting multi-part piece on her experience with Alcoholics Anonymous. Here’s Part 1.

***

Doubtful Daughter has written about how much more she questions things now that she’s not a “believer”…it might as well have been written by me!

***

Apparently it’s Relocate Religious Books Month! I’ve never moved a book from its spot in the bookstore if it’s in the wrong section, I tend to think that’s just making the employees’ jobs harder, but I have mentioned to staff that certain books shouldn’t be in the Science section and gotten results. I also sometimes move Skeptic Magazine over so that it’s covering the woo-ish UFO and Biblical Archeology magazines – they’re in the same section so I don’t feel bad about doing that!

2 Responses to “Enlightning Bolts – 07.05.2010 – Female Bloggers Edition”


  1. 1 Sharmin July 7, 2010 at 2:27 am

    I agree with you in that I don’t want to make life more difficult for the people who work at libraries and bookstores. I work in retail (though not in a bookstore) and putting things back on shelves is one of the most tedious parts of the job. Having to do it while and/or after helping lots and lots of customers is especially frustrating. I wouldn’t want to do that to anyone else.

    I think the message would perhaps get across better by writing to the owner/boss of the store or to the library. Perhaps people could get together and write a bunch of letter to the local paper or sign a petition or something.

    Thanks for mentioning those posts by female bloggers!

  2. 2 doubtfuldaughter July 7, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Thanks for the link back! It allowed me to discover more female skeptics (of which there can not be too many!).


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

