Recipe – Chickpea Burgers

It’s weird for me to post a recipe, but since my vegetarianism was a result of my reason-based outlook, I think it fits in here. If people like the idea of posting recipes I’ll do it more often!

Since I stopped eating meat I’ve been looking for an alternative to burgers that’s not disgusting, and it’s hard to find. I can’t stand the taste of soy, and those burgers that try to taste like meat are usually dry and weird-tasting. The other night I went to a BBQ and the hostess kindly made me a chickpea burger that I absolutely loved, mainly because it wasn’t trying to taste like meat.

Here‘s the recipe:

2 tsp vegetable oil
3 green onions (including tops) chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp each dried oregano and chili powder
1 cup diced sweet red or green pepper and/or ½ cup chopped pickled hot peppers
Half tomato, chopped
1 can (19 oz) chick-peas drained and rinsed
1/3 cup dry bread crumbs
2 tbsp cilantro or parsley, chopped

1. In nonstick skillet, heat 1 tsp of oil over medium heat and cook onions, garlic, oregano and chili powder, stirring, for 2 minutes. Add red pepper and tomato. Cook, stirring for about 3 minutes or until pepper is tender and liquid is evaporated.
2. In food processor, mix pepper mixture with chick-peas; transfer to bowl. Stir in bread crumbs, parsley, and salt and pepper to taste until well combined. Pressing firmly, shape into 4 burgers.
3. In nonstick skillet, heat remaining oil over medium heat and cook burgers for 4 minutes on each side or until heated through.

Serves 4

You can make this ahead through to step 2 and refrigerate for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 1 month.

The friend that made them for me used extra bread crumbs because the patties weren’t staying together well. She also used both green peppers and pickled ones. She cooked them on the BBQ but it was a bit of a challenge, so it’s probably best to do it in a skillet. You just eat it on a bun with whatever condiments you would normally put on a burger.

On the website where she got the recipe it says you could also omit the breadcrumbs and cook them in a frying pan to use as filling for tacos.

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Recipe – Chickpea Burgers”


  1. 1 Asp July 5, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I don’t normally like chickpeas, but I tried chickpea and tuna patties (this recipe: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1260/spicy-tuna-and-chickpea-patties), and it tasted awesome. I’ll definitely try this recipe as well, it sounds delicious.

    Also, I would not object to more recipes. 🙂

  2. 2 Nadine July 6, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Oooh, thanks for posting! We’re not vegetarians but we try to eat a good amount of vegetarian fare. This looks awesome.

  3. 3 Spokeshave. September 5, 2010 at 7:07 am

    Hi Lindsay,

    It has taken a while but I’ve finally got round to sending my veggie recipe. Having been vegetarian for 25 years I’d welcome any recipes you care to post. Something new is always welcome. This one was brought back from Greece by a classics friend of mind. He served it when we ate with them and my wife now uses it regularly when we have friends for dinner.

    Sweet Pepper Starter.

    Serves 2 people

    2 Sweet Red Peppers
    1 Mango
    1 Avocado
    4 good sprigs of basil
    2 cloves garlic
    half a lemon
    2 tablespoons of Hummus
    50 grams of blue stilton or Docelatte cheese

    chop stalk ends off peppers and slice down the middle
    place on baking tray and sprinkle with crushed garlic and torn basil leaves
    drizzle with garlic or plain olive oil
    put in pre-heated oven approx 180 c for 15 minutes or until peppers are soft
    leave to cool
    when cold arrange 2 halves on each plate
    slice avocado and sprinkle with lemon juice
    slice mango
    dice cheese
    arrange 2 avocado slices beside peppers and top with hummus
    arrange 2 mango slices beside the other ingredients
    sprinkle with small cubes of cheese and serve with ciabatta bread

    It looks good on the plate, too, which adds to the enjoyment. Thw next time that we have it I’ll send you a photograph.

    Terry.

  4. 4 EnlightningLinZ September 9, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    This sounds delicious, I can’t wait to try it! I love avocado yum 🙂 Although I’m terrible at picking avocados and mangos at the grocery store, so it could be disastrous when I try this out lol


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

