Women and Skepticism

If you’ve ever been to a meeting of skeptics, chances are you’ve noticed a big gap between the number of men and the number of women in attendance. When I started this blog I remember trying to think of what would set my point of view apart from the thousands of other skeptical blogs out there. All I could think of was that it might be interesting that I was formerly a believer of many of the things I now criticize, but it took some comments on my gender to make me realize that being a female skeptical blogger is actually pretty rare.

I’ve never gone and counted, but in my anecdotal experience most skeptical, atheist, and science-related blogs are written by men. So why is this? Skeptifem recently blogged about this, and her thinking was that it’s because women are busier, as we are generally tasked with looking after the kids or the home. I have no doubt that this contributes to the lack of ladies at skeptical gatherings, but I think there has to be more to it than that, otherwise we should expect women to also be underrepresented at things like Mind, Body, Spirit Festivals and in Church activities, no? Thankfully, PZ Myers recently posed the question on his blog:

So I’m going to try something a little different. Instead of telling you my opinion, I’m going to forgo the essential principle of blogging (which is “Me! Me!”) and just ask people, especially women, to leave links to their godless/skeptical feminist blog or make suggestions or gripe or tell me what these stupid male-dominated conventions have to do to correct the imbalance.

There was a lot of interesting discussion, so I recommend looking at the comments. Personally, I think it largely has to do with it being less socially acceptable for a woman to be outspoken, confrontational, and intellectual. I’m not sure what the solution is to this issue, maybe you can post your suggestions in the comments, but I think that promoting female skeptics is a good place to start. If more women are seen to be participating in skepticism at least online, then maybe we won’t be seen as a novelty simply by virtue of our gender.

So I’ve gone through the comments on that thread on Pharyngula and compiled this list of skeptical blogs/podcasts/websites that happen to be created by women (hopefully I didn’t miss any, there were over 600 comments). Enjoy!

Feel free to add more links in the comments!

I also want to take this opportunity to say that I’ve been wanting to find other contributors to this blog since my posts are so sporatic, and this whole topic of women in skepticism has made me think that it would be great to get some other women posting on my blog. If you’re interested (even if you want to cross-post from your own blog), shoot me an email through my contact page.

15 Responses to “Women and Skepticism”


  1. 1 Podblack July 2, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    HA! 😀 I was going to do just that very thing and go through the thread! Thanks! 🙂

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ July 2, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    My pleasure! btw Kylie you’ve totally made my day by commenting here, I love your podcast!

  3. 3 Sharon Hill July 3, 2010 at 7:24 am

    I’ve been blogging for a few years and have been involved in the skeptical movement since around 1992.

    Doubtful blog
    http://idoubtit.wordpress.com

  4. 4 friendthegirl July 3, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Oh wow, I am so grateful that you took on the enormous task of culling through that thread and highlighting the women bloggers. The discussion was so intense that I thought all these links would be buried. And whenever I thought about that, I felt a little guilty, like, you know, SOMEONE really should make a list…

    Thank you so much for doing it.

  5. 5 1minionsopinion July 3, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Add mine to the list. I don’t hit on skeptical stuff with any regularity, but my local Freethinker group has a Skeptics group built into it and those pub nights are far more interesting than what the freethinkers wind up talking about (which is nothing in particular)

  6. 7 ashleyfmiller July 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Awesome!

  7. 9 Fat Steve July 16, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I feel it necessary to mention Dany Darling the co-host and actual brains behind The Pair of Continents Podcast at http://www.thebigcigarette.com

  8. 10 Joy-Mari Cloete July 18, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    So I’m also a sceptic and I also blog. Well, I’ve been very quiet of late. But I’ll blog again sometime soon(ish).

  9. 11 Darkchilde July 19, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Add mine to the pot.

    http://tenebra98.blogspot.com

    Skeptic, atheist, and whatever captures my imagination I write about.

  10. 12 Mephit October 8, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Thanks for the linkage, only just picked up on it :). Well done on compiling the list!

  11. 13 cooking recipes December 3, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    I dont disagree with this article…


  1. 1 Women & Skepticism? « Glasgow Aspie Trackback on July 5, 2010 at 2:00 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

