Sunday Bible Reading

In which I post an uninspiring, sometimes hilarious, sometimes disturbing passage from that book that some claim is the word of god.

Today’s reading: 2 Chronicles 14:12-15

12So the LORD smote the Ethiopians before Asa, and before Judah; and the Ethiopians fled.

13And Asa and the people that were with him pursued them unto Gerar: and the Ethiopians were overthrown, that they could not recover themselves; for they were destroyed before the LORD, and before his host; and they carried away very much spoil.

14And they smote all the cities round about Gerar; for the fear of the LORD came upon them: and they spoiled all the cities; for there was exceeding much spoil in them.

15They smote also the tents of cattle, and carried away sheep and camels in abundance, and returned to Jerusalem.

2 Responses to “Sunday Bible Reading”


  1. 1 ME February 23, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    What translation are you using… Why don’t you quit taking text out of context and stop pulling only the parts that fit your close-minded self. If you truly don’t believe in God, why do you try and use Him for your gain. For if you truly did not believe, you’d give this no thought and go about your business. But, since you have popularity to gain and need a boost of self-esteem. Good luck with that and may God “smite” you as well, since you think it is so funny.

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ February 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    That’s the King James, and I did read the chapter and putting it in context doesn’t make it any different, it’s till a horrible and violent story.

    You’re making a lot of assertions about me, so I’m going to correct those: I truly don’t believe in any god or gods, but I used to. Now I require evidence before I believe something. I started this Bible reading thing on my blog because I think it’s strange that for so long I held up this awful book as something to be revered, so it’s fun to laugh about that.

    Your claim that I’m doing this to gain popularity is just silly. A blog to get popular? Do you know how many blogs there are on the interwebs?

    As for my self esteem, it’s just fine, thanks. I don’t see why you feel the need to attack me like that. Why you felt the need to take it any further than claiming I was taking that passage out of context is beyond me. But you’re hiding behind anonymity so it’s easy to throw stones at people that way. I guess that’s why you’re also comfortable saying god should smite me too. It doesn’t bother me for someone to say something like that because I don’t believe in God, but you do believe in God, so it’s a really really horrible thing for someone to say. Don’t you see that?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

