Test the Nation Results

I just finished watching and taking the CBC’s Test the Nation IQ Test, which compared the IQs of 6 groups of Canadians, 2 of those groups being Atheists and Believers (I talked about this test in more detail in a previous post).

The results are in, and here are the standings by group:

1. Nerds
2. Politicians
3. Atheists
4. Tie: Believers & Contact Sport Athletes
5. Twins

The person in the in-studio groups that had the highest IQ was an atheist, who scored 140. Woo!

I scored 110, I squeezed into the above average category…that was a hard test! If you want to take it you still can for now if you click on the image below. I’m not sure how long they’ll leave it up there though so take it soon! If you’re not Canadian you can still take it, just select “Outside Canada” for Province.

iq test

I was hoping the Atheists would win, but lots of nerds are also atheists so I’ll call it a win haha…

There were some comments made by the believers that struck me as really nasty, to paraphrase: “the atheists need to remember there is a hell”, and “we sleep better at night [than the atheists]”…but there was a lot of friendly rivalry between all of the groups so it’s all good. The nerds seemed to take the brunt of the insults though, so I’m glad they won!

I think the part I enjoyed most was George Stroumboulopoulos really sticking it to the politicians, it was pretty hilarious.

Did you watch? How did you do? What did you think of the rankings? Did you think the test was well done?

They haven’t posted detailed results yet on the CBC website, but I’ll try to remember to link to it when they do. They didn’t just compare the results by the groups listed above, they also compared by province, gender, shoe size, and they even hypnotized a group of the in-studio participants to see if they did better. It should be interesting to see how everyone does.

Note: If you missed the chart at the end to find out your IQ, click on the image below to make it bigger:

The results are now up on CBC’s website, comparing the IQs of everyone who took the test (not just the in-studio groups). Almost all of them fall in Above Average, so I’m guessing that says something about they types of people who would spend 2 hours of their weekend taking an IQ test while they could also be watching the Saints/Vikings game!

Here are the national results by religion:

choice Total Respondents Lowest Score Highest Score Average Score Average IQ
Religious 6182 0.0 50.0 31.21 111.48
Agnostic 3955 0.0 50.0 33.4 115.37
Atheist 3584 0.0 50.0 33.41 114.26
Other 4544 0.0 50.0 30.62 109.87

There are also a lot of fun stats like if you seem to have the best IQ if you’ve had 3 concussions, NDP party members have the highest IQ, and Sci/Fi fans did better than fans of other forms of literature. You can see the full results here.

add to del.icio.us Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It!

7 Responses to “Test the Nation Results”


  1. 1 darcy January 24, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    hi! thanks for the post. I just finished taking the test and did not catch my iq score because they flashed it across the screen so quickly. and now I can’t find the chart anywhere!! if you know where I can find the chart can you please let me know? thanks so much!

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ January 24, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    I added the results chart to the post above, just click on the thumbnail at the bottom of the post πŸ™‚

  3. 3 darcy January 24, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    thanks so much!! very helpful πŸ™‚

  4. 4 1minionsopinion January 25, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I tried a few questions but I don’t care for timed tests. I think there’s too much pressure involved in finding a solution that way, and I don’t think a person has to think fast to be smart. I’d do better with that kind of thing if I could go at my own pace. Ah well, we beat the believers though, so hooray!

  5. 5 Donna H January 25, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Yup – it was a good show.

    I was thrilled that the Atheists beat the Believers at least, but only by 3 IQ points – so not exactly a huge difference.

    Ok – now the embarrassing part. I got 39 out of 50. IQ: 128.

    Reason: My IQ used to be 134 or 136.

    (runs and hides so things thrown won’t hit her)

  6. 6 MikeTheInfidel January 25, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    Ha! I got a 134. Take that, automated testamajig!

  7. 7 lifuroi September 12, 2010 at 7:20 am

    It’s only a stupid,culturaly unfair and irrelevant canadian IQ test.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

