Symphony of Science – Jane Goodall

If you haven’t heard of the Symphony of Science you must must must click here now!

John Boswell, the head musician and producer behind Symphony of Science, has created (so far) 4 songs with accompanying videos that put the words of brilliant scientists like Carl Sagan and Stephen Hawking to music…with the magic of auto-tune.

I love these creations so much that I even ordered the first song, A Glorious Dawn, on vinyl (you can get them from Third Man Records, they’re only $5, and the vinyl is etched to replicate the gold record on Voyager).

Symphony of Science just unveiled its most recent creation, “The Unbroken Thread”, featuring David Attenborough, Carl Sagan, and Jane Goodall. And it’s beautiful. This one is about biology, evolution, and the complexity and diversity of life on Earth.

I particularly want to point out the part featuring Jane Goodall, and it sums up the main reason why I decided to become a vegetarian (it’s been a week today!):

There isn’t a sharp line dividing humans
from the rest of the animal kingdom
It’s a very wuzzie line

It’s a very wuzzie line,
and it’s getting wuzzier
All the time

We find animals doing things that we,
In our arrogance,
Used to think was “just human”

I hope you enjoy these songs as much as I do.

9 Responses to “Symphony of Science – Jane Goodall”


  1. 1 wolfshowl January 8, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Congrats on your one week veg anniversary!! Whenever I look into my kitty’s eyes, it astounds me that I ever saw animals as lacking human qualities. She so obviously has her own little personality.

  2. 2 limadean January 8, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Congrats on the week-iversary!
    I’ve been toying a lot lately with the idea of going vegetarian. My one concern is that I’ll just end up replacing meat with bread (and a lot of vegetarians I know do just that). Do you have any suggestions for good sources on staying healthy while vegetarian?
    And I love, love, love Symphony of Science.

  3. 3 Mom January 8, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    I loved the symphony too!
    I’d like to respond to limadean’s inquiry for a good source of info on eating healthy while vegetarian. In my opinion, one of the best books is The Thrive Diet by Brenden Braden. Once you’ve read it i think you’ll be convinced that vegetarian is the healthiest nutritional plan of all. Really, you just need to avoid processed foods and stick to nuts, seeds, beans, whole grains, and fruits and vegetables. I also use soy milk and some dairy products. I try to substitute olive oil for butter whenever possible. Give it a try!

  4. 4 limadean January 8, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Thank you! I’ll check it out.

  5. 5 Matthew Harrison January 8, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Hey! I found your site while searching for fans of Carl Sagan. I am involved in the production of a 3.5hr+ video podcast with Ann Druyan (widow/collaborator of Carl Sagan) and considering you are obviously a fan of Sagan – I felt I should write you.

    It’s live – but not yet “officially launched” – as a “prime podcast” – “At Home in the Cosmos with Annie Druyan.”

    I believe it is a very big deal on two levels:

    1. It is an astronomy buff’s delight guaranteed to thrill fans of the late great Carl Sagan — as it contains more than three and a half hours of original video material with his widow and collaborator, Ann Druyan, that we shot this past summer at the home they shared in Ithaca, New York. It gives the viewer the feeling that they are visiting her one-on-one and hearing her most personal stories and seeing the Sagans’ most fascinating intellectual treasures. Actually it is MORE than a feeling… this production does EXACTLY that!! And…

    2. It is a breakthrough and giant leap forward in talk media programming and marketing. This production elevates the concept of the “podcast” to institutional media status — like a movie, book or stage play. It is the exact opposite of the “broadcast” model. It is the “microcast” model which endeavors to super-serve the super-interested. I believe we will be seeing many more examples of this new genre in the coming years as it offers a whole new vehicle of expression, information-sharing and revenue-generating for the truly creative members of the creative arts world.

    We are about to launch a national promotional campaign for this — however, because of my respect for the blogosphere and the quality of your blog specifically – I am writing you in hopes you will check it out and maybe write about it on your website.

    Here’s what I am requesting – please visit http://www.podjockey.com, click on the big graphic for “At Home in the Cosmos with Annie Druyan” and see the entire page presentation. There is a short 2 minute trailer on the site. But on youtube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73Deix9dpfE – there’s a 9 and a half minute trailer that explains the package further.

    Please let me know what you think!

    Thanks!

    Sincerely,

    Matthew Harrison
    PodJockey.com

  6. 6 EnlightningLinZ January 9, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    Thanks for the congrats 🙂

    I’m not the best person to ask about how to stay healthy while being veg because it’s been such a short time, but you should listen to my mom in her above comment, because she’s been a vegetarian for a very long time and she’s very healthy!

    I’m not too concerned about replacing meat with bread though, bread gets boring fast and there are so many more interesting things you can make with vegetables and beans. I think you just have to experiment. I’ve been making things that I’ve never made before like casseroles and sauteed mushrooms, things that I wouldn’t have bothered with when I was eating meat. I’ll try out new recipes that focus on the vegetable ingredients, and eventually build up a repertoire of favourite veg recipes.

    Matthew-thanks for the heads up, I love Ann Druyan so I’ll definitely check it out!

  7. 7 Chargefire January 10, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Congrats! What a coincidence! I’m a vegetarian too! (Ovo-lacto.) It’s only been five days, though, but come Tuesday, and it will be a week. 8D

    I really like the videos, as well.

  8. 8 EnlightningLinZ January 12, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Congrats to you as well Chargefire 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

