Something a Little Personal & Douchebag Campus Preachers

Hello readers, if you stop by here regularly enough you may have noticed that I haven’t been posting lately. This is because of stresses that are going on in my life right now. I have had plenty of time to blog, but I’m having difficulty concentrating so I have a zillion unfinished drafts of posts.

I just want to let you know that I’m going to try harder to focus. I have drafts that I intend on finishing, comments that I will respond to, and a hoax countdown that I will resume. I promise!

So this post isn’t a complete waste, there was an amusing picture posted on Friendly Atheist today:

What an ass, I’m glad those men are making him feel uncomfortable. He should feel uncomfortable. If he thinks that love (or even simply lust) between two consenting adults should be eternally punished he should be ashamed of himself. Do preachers really think they’ll win converts by displaying their bigotry like this? Especially at Yale, which is where this picture was taken.

And serious, WTF, Democrats? Feminists? And these are lumped in with Thieves? What a random assortment of words. I wonder how he narrowed it down. I wonder why gangster rappers, but not gangsters? I wonder why potheads, but not drug dealers?

Thankfully there’s no such place as Hell, because I’m at least 8 of those things.

3 Responses to “Something a Little Personal & Douchebag Campus Preachers”


  1. 1 Vindog December 14, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Do preachers really think they’ll win converts by displaying their bigotry like this?

    Bigotry: : a person obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially : one who regards or treats the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance.

    Truth is intolerant. Try gravity, math, whatever. truth is narrow and not subject to opinion.

    What people call “hate” these days is really a projection. People hate and do not tolerate absolute truth so they project their feelings back upon the person proclaiming the absolute truth of God’s word.

    Well it’s safe to say that preacher added to God’s words which is an explicit crime according to 3 books of the bible. Perhaps his zeal carried him away.

    But it’s not honest to say that he is a bigot by the definition above.

    If he truly hated those he listed on his placard he would simply ignore them and let them fall into the hands of the God who will fullfill all that is written in the Bible.

    Love,
    Vince.

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ December 15, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Vindog – I want to make sure I understand what you’re saying. I think you’re saying that since this preacher is (or thinks he is), in your opinion, proclaiming the truth, then he is not a bigot. Is that accurate?

    If so, then how do you justify calling what he is saying the truth? Is it the truth that all of these people are destined for hell? There’s no evidence for a hell, and there’s no evidence that feminists and homosexuals are evil and ought to repent. If you believe that there is evidence, then please tell me. This preacher is using his faith as a basis for projecting his intolerance for anyone that doesn’t fit into his bubble of what a good person is, and in my opinion, that’s bigotry. I think that fits into your definition of bigotry as well.

    I agree with you that truth is not subject to opinion. You mentioned gravity, and that’s something we know is true based on solid evidence, and it won’t change no matter what our opinions are. What the preacher has on his sign may well be true, but it hasn’t been demonstrated as such.

    Perhaps he’s a very nice man, but in my opinion, based solely on this photograph, he is very misguided and is spreading a message of hate.

  3. 3 UG December 17, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Its one’s own personal choice what to do or what not till he/she is really trying to cause harm to others.

    So, the display shown by those guys is really hilarious and quite a teaching to that man with hanging placards.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

