I Wish I Didn’t Know About Celebrities’ Personal Beliefs

I’m always disappointed to find out that one of my favourite celebrities is promoting wacky ideas.

I love Bill Maher’s harsh criticisms of religion, but then I find out that he’s into astrology and has some paranoid conspiracy theories.

Yesterday I was watching Ellen, one of my favourite shows, and unfortunately had to witness her fawning over Deepak Chopra.

And now today I find out via Twitter that Brent Spiner is anti-vaccine.

*sigh*

3 Responses to “I Wish I Didn’t Know About Celebrities’ Personal Beliefs”


  1. 1 Joreth October 28, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I heard that Brent Spiner was an anti-vaxxer today too, but I can’t find the beginning of the rumor. How do we know this is true? The couple of tweets he made could imply he is opposed to vaccinations, but he can also justify them by saying he’s simply encouraging people to research instead of blindly trusting anyone.

    Personally, I agree with the person he’s arguing with, that Brent’s comments sound dangerously close to the conspiracy theorists, but is there anything conclusive anywhere that points to Brent Spiner being an anti-vaxxer, or is he just overly-cautious?

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ October 28, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Here are a couple of his recent tweets:

    Have not advised anyone what to do other than to investigate all available info. If you’d rather just go with the status quo, be my guest.

    RT @SusietheGeek @BrentSpiner Are you an antivaxxer–Not completely. But it’s worth investigating before letting drug cos. bamboozle us.

    Check out my new follow. Dr. Jay Gordon. He makes a lot of sense.

    So he doesn’t say he’s anti-vaxx, but uses the same rhetoric as the anti-vaxxers…”I’m not against vaccines, I’m just asking questions”…asking questions? More like spreading lies…

    He also promotes Dr. Jay Gordon, Jenny McCarthy’s son’s pediatrician, who is anti-vaxx: http://www.sciencebasedmedicine.org/?p=301

    In my opinion, putting unsubstantiated fears into people with regards to vaccines is anti-vaxx, regardless of what they decide to call it.

    Overly cautious…or overly credulous?

  3. 3 Joreth October 28, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    So, I did some research on Dr. Jay Gordon, the doc that Brent Spiner supports, and I now fully understand why he was accused of being an anti-vaxxer.

    I retract my original question and concern about calling him an antivaxxer.

    *Oops* – I tried to post this a while ago, but my internet connection dumped it, and now I see someone else answered it for me above.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

