Happy Blasphemy Day!

Jesus Christ, it’s my first Blasphemy Day as  an atheist!

Although technically, when you’re an atheist every day is blasphemy day! The spirit of the day is to push the idea that religion should not be above criticism. All ideas should be criticized, and religion shouldn’t be exempt from this, especially since it permeates almost every part of society.

I was thinking that I would celebrate by posting all kinds of blasphemous images and phrases, jokes poking fun at religion, etc. But what would that accomplish? Protesting the idea of blasphemy shouldn’t be about mudslinging, it should be about eliminating the protective shielding that people have put around faith. So instead I’ll just briefly summarize my world view, which is in itself blasphemous.

I believe that all religions are fairy tales made up to comfort people and to provide easy answers to tough questions that haven’t yet been answered by science. Faith is not a virtue, and will not lead us to any truth. I have seen no evidence that would lead me to believe that there is a god, but if there is one then he’s either a huge jerk or an incompetent idiot. A god is not a prerequisite to finding beauty and meaning in life, and as I see it, life, the universe, and everything is more incredible when you don’t give credit to a sky fairy for popping it into existence. I’m thankful for every second I have of this life, because once it’s over, it’s either over or I’m going to hell for not worshiping an egotistical, jealous maniac who lives in the clouds.

2 Responses to “Happy Blasphemy Day!”


  1. 1 Vindog December 14, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Linzee,

    First – I read someones comment that your logo was not funny; I disagree. You might say it struck me.

    I read above: “I believe that all religions are fairy tales made up to comfort people ”

    That’s so well said; and isnt the statement itself the declaration of a religion of sorts as it starts with; “I believe…” and therefore the comforted party (you) the herald?

    Hmm.

    But when to facts become “beliefs”?

    Without descending into epistemology; certainly there are some facts that you know in your life – yes?

    So too the men and women who wrote things like:

    “..For we did not follow cleverly devised tales when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we were eyewitnesses of His majesty. 2 Peter 1:16”

    You see these facts that they made known to us cost them dearly; all except one were brutally killed and their families uprooted. They could have spared themselves by just keeping it to themselves or recanting their “beliefs” but you see the beliefs were not beliefs; they were and still are facts of history.

    Of course you have paid some price or there wouldn’t be such venemom and singe in your outcry. But have you paid like them?

    Religion then; actually is not a comfort but a great detractor from devotion to the true God.

    That is why you see the central character of the bible; Jesus; quite at odds with religious leaders yet “..the common people heard Him gladly. Mark 12:37

    I’m sorry for what religion has done for you; but would you consider that He who died on the cross did so because He cares for you. Your anger is misdirected.

    Vindog

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ December 15, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Honestly, I resent how atheists like myself can’t say “I believe” without it being taken as some kind of faith-claim.

    I actually think that I would change that statement from “I believe that all religions are fairy tales made up to comfort people” to “I believe that all religions are fairy tales that are made up to try to answer questions that haven’t yet been answered, and as a consequence provide comfort to a lot of people.” That’s still an “I believe” statement, but it’s based on a lot of thought and reading and learning about religions, so it’s not a statement of faith, and it’s not an idea that I hold on to religiously. Something could happen tomorrow that could make me change my mind. I don’t understand how either of those statements could be seen as a statement of religion, but maybe you could give me your definition of religion and that might help me understand your position?

    You said “when do facts become beliefs?”, I don’t understand this question, feel free to clarify. I would flip it around though and say when do beliefs become facts? And to that I would answer: when they’re well supported by evidence.

    There are facts that I know. Gravity is one of them, I know 1+1=2, I know that evolution is true, I know that my keyboard is black. I don’t have to have any faith to believe that these things are true.

    Now you’re quoting from the Bible, but I don’t believe that the Bible is true, so it’s really quite meaningless to me. You might as well be quoting from the Koran or Dianetics, it’s all just words on pages and I don’t see any reason to take one book ore seriously than another. You say that the things written in the Bible are facts, but how do you know they’re facts?

    We seem to be on the same page in our rejection of religion, but I also reject faith. You have faith that the Bible is true, correct? But personally I can’t just believe that it’s true, I need evidence.

    I fail to see where you saw venom and anger in this post. Where is it that you think I was directing my anger?

    I have considered that Jesus died on the cross for my sins because he cares for me. I believed that strongly for most of my life. But now I don’t see any reason to believe that this is true, as there’s no evidence.

    (Apologies if this is incoherent, I’m trying to address you’re whole comment, but it’s also very late right now. Let me know if you need me to clarify anything)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

