Update: Jesus Camp Kids, Where are they Now

My last post on the Jesus Camp kids was a bit of a disappointment, it was hard to find anything about them. But I managed to dig up this, which is about Levi. Here are some exerpts:

Last Sunday when I met up with the pastor and his family, I knew full well that I wasn’t the only one whose life had changed within a few short years. When I first met the pastor’s son Levi, Levi was 10 years old and virtually indistinguishable from every other 10-year old boy, except for the tail on the back of his neck and his unwavering conviction that Jesus has called him to be a missionary in India. This time around, when I introduced myself to Levi, who didn’t remember me before, I knew I was in the presence of a movie star…sort of.

The Levi that I’m talking about is Levi O Brien and the pastor that I’m talking about is Pastor Tim O Brien. The church I am referring to is Rock of Ages, the spiritual family of Levi and Rachel, two of the child stars featured prominently in the documentary film Jesus Camp.

Before I give my impressions of the O Brien Family and the Rock of Ages Church, let me start off by saying there were several aspects of the film that concerned my wife and I. In the film, Pastor Tim’s wife Tracy teaches her children the literal six- day creation theory as if it were the only possible interpretation of the creation account in Genesis, implies that Global Warming is a left-wing conspiracy, talks about America being a Christian nation in a manner that many secular Americans and even a good number of Christians would consider naïve. My wife and I also felt that much of the political activism in the film was inappropriate for children who were too young to understand the complexities of the issues they were dealing with (such as 6 and 7 year olds placing red bandanas around their mouths and protesting the evils of abortion). The most disturbing aspect for me was the filmmakers’ portrayal of evangelical Christians as a monolithic entity that by definition votes Republican and supports the Iraq War.

You wouldn’t get this impression from watching Jesus Camp, but the O Briens have absolutely no interest in turning the U.S.A. into a Christian theocracy. During the potluck after the service, Pastor Tim shared with me his views concerning the pursuit of earthly power to advance the Kingdom of God and referred me to other preachers who were also speaking out against the national and political idolatry often associated with the Christian right. Pastor Tim’s wife, Tracy, was even more forthright in her views. Given her comment in Jesus Camp, I was surprised to hear her say that she agreed with me on my points that much of what constitutes as American Civil religion is based on the founding myths of the early pilgrims who believed they were establishing the Kingdom of God by settling the New World. Tracy also shared with me how she has come to realize that the Constitution is not a religious document, that much of what she learned about American history as a child was candy-coated, and that the founders of America, though they were brilliant, were fallible just like the rest of us. To my surprise, Tracy went on to tell me that, although she loves politics and considers herself a conservative, she hasn’t considered herself a Republican in two and a half years!

As far as the O Brien children, I don’t think I can stress enough how normal they are. Levi is now 15 years old and still dreams of living in India as a missionary in the near future. He loves to read books on history and has a part in a theatrical production in cooperation with other home schooled kids in the area. As much as I appreciate Levi’s authenticity, I think the proof of the normalcy of the O Brien children isn’t so much with Levi, but with Luke. With Levi’s passion for ministry and his Jesus Camp fame, you would think that Luke would be the bitter younger brother starving for parental approval (if indeed the O Briens were the stereotypical domineering type everyone seems to think they are). Not even close. Evangelical haters may be disappointed to hear that Luke is a happy, well-adjusted 14-year old kid who loves Jesus, loves his parents, and wants to chase tornados when he grows up. With his long hair, I told him he looked like he could be one of the characters from the movie Twister. This drew laughs from mom and dad.

Do the O Briens want to kill Harry Potter? Actually no. Jesus Camp viewers may be surprised that the O Briens actually let their children read the Harry Potter books and watch the movies. Do the O Briens want capital punishment for homosexuals? No they don’t. They believe homosexuality is a sin, but it’s no worse than other sins, such as pride and greed. Do the O Briens want to overthrow the government? Again, the answer is no.

The problem with our media saturated culture is it’s far too easy to draw conclusions based on images and 15 second soundbites, especially when the images and soundbites are divorced from their broader context. In today’s pessimistic culture, it’s hard to believe that children can be passionate about their faith and even harder to believe that human beings can behave so strangely in a religious meeting and retain their intellect. But just because it’s hard for people in the post-modern West to accept the strange behavior associated with revivalism, that doesn’t means this type of behavior is all that unusual. Not only is American history filled with examples of religious revivalism, much of the non-Western world today experiences manifestations associated with religious ecstasy on a regular basis.

Jesus Camp may have frightened American critics, but I bet if I showed the film to a group of Africans or Brazilians, they’d likely jump for joy and shout hallelujah. This isn’t to say that I don’t have my own reservations when it comes to unusual behavior associated with religious revivalism. I just happen to know that, from a cultural and historical standpoint, the skepticism in the modern West against behavior associated with religious phenomenon is culturally and historically unique-not the other way around. Trust me. Neither Levi nor Luke is the next Ted Kazinski. You can sleep soundly tonight.

Thanks to Aaron Taylor (who wrote the above)

____

Update: https://struckbyenlightning.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/jesus-camp-kids-where-are-they-now-2/

46 Responses to “Update: Jesus Camp Kids, Where are they Now”


  1. 1 Pablo Diablo November 10, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Yeah, o.k….if you believe that. But really for some people to go from A to B in 3 years? I don’t think so…I think more likely, these people were probably publicly confronted after the film’s release…

    Don’t you think it is possible that after catching so much “bad press” after the film that if they were in a situation speaking to outsiders that they would watch their tongue, if just to avoid constant confrontation?

    I don’t think these people are evil, but misinformed and confused…but I have doubts that they went from delusional to lucid in 3 years.

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ November 11, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Pablo,

    I doubt if they changed that much in 3 years. I’ve heard that some of the scenes with their homeschooling were edited to make them look more fundamentalist than they are. For example, according to Levi’s mother (if I’m remembering this correctly), in that scene where they’re watching that creationist cartoon, the filmmakers asked them to put that in specifically. Who knows what’s true, or whether they adjusted what they told people after reactions to the movie, but things you see in movies tend to be a bit exaggerated, so I have no problem believing that the family was probably a little less fundamentalist than they were portrayed in the movie.

  3. 3 Andre January 3, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I think that the lady Becky should be jailed. I grew up in a very similar church enviornment which tought hate, fear and idol worship (thier god with that silly talking gibberish crap called tounges). The funny thing is most of these people will fall to the side like Haggard and the kids will go to college and hopefully gain some common sense. Or they will be so socially inept they will make kids having failed marriages become drug addicts etc etc etc.. All of which I have seen. Also, In case Becky reads this post

    A woman should learn in quietness and full submission. I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man; she must be silent” (1 Timothy 2:11-12).

    In the church, God assigns different roles to men and women. This is a result of the way mankind was created and the way in which sin entered the world (1 Timothy 2:13-14).

    so she needs to shut up and do what the bible says..

    BTW I am not a christian anymore find it a very silly religion (find all religions silly worshiping a god is outdated) I don’t fear hell, death or the wrath of god. I fear not being a good person by doing things like taking away childrens choices on what they would like to be. The church has done so much damage from the evangelicals to the catholics. Your comment about not changing in three years look at the LDS they got bad press for thier racist teachings and change allowing blacks to minister in 1984. so yes they changed becuase of the press but in the end they still have that coat of racism they where founded on.

    Anyways this is just random thoughts I have after watching that film and listening to that women garbage. I there is a hell I will see her there

  4. 4 Robert S January 4, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Levi was manipulated while the film was being made. This is the kid who said he was saved at age 5 because he JUST WANTED MORE OUT OF LIFE.
    What I would like to see is Levi revisit his comments withouit his handlers being around and have the kid speak openly and candidly about the entire Jesus Camp experience and his currect views on things.
    He was a showboat then and I rather doubt that the ensuing three years really changed his attitude but I would like to hear it from Him.

  5. 5 EnlightningLinZ January 5, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Andre – yeah it’s hard to say how much damage Becky must have done to those young kids’ minds, but the sad thing is that the kind of indoctrination and fear seen in the movie is going on all over the place. You have to wonder what’s going on in her head.

  6. 6 EnlightningLinZ January 6, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I would love to see a recent interview with these kids. They’ll all still be fairly young, I’m not sure how old they were in the movie, so maybe when they’re older we’ll hear more from them. I would love it if one or all of them turned out to be freethinkers. Who do you think is the most likely to question their religion?

  7. 7 Forrest January 19, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Well, I will have to say that when I was indoctrinated, the things we said to strangers was much different from the things that were said in our livingroom, during devotions and at bedtime.

    One of the tricks of the religious right is to ensure that the outsiders don’t understand us. They don’t have the light.

    So you might think these parents are perfectly normal and that Levi is too. Wait until he is 24… I am sure you will find out much more of the truth of the whole matter then, that is if he can ever break free from the programming.

    The movie was done in a non-biased way as far as I can tell. The brainwashing is actually much much worse and emotionally wrecks their minds.

  8. 8 rachel yam January 20, 2010 at 2:21 am

    I just saw this movie and can’t get out of my mind the scene where Levi and Rachel are discussing people excited to die for Christ, shouting, “Martyr, Martyr!” Yes, Becky’s teachings certainly do put some Christians on the same extremist plane as the Islamic militants they love to denigrate.

    I used to live in Colorado Springs. My little nephew attends the New Life Church there. Now I’m much more concerned for him than before I knew what exactly they were preaching.

  9. 9 ME February 1, 2010 at 2:48 am

    My guess is at least a few of these kids will be musicians in a heavy metal/ punk/ emo/ screaming kind of band because they’ll be pissed off at the “man” who made them think they were going to hell!

  10. 11 Todd March 18, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Wow, you guys!
    I grew up in a church just like this and no; I was not “emotionally damaged”. I did change my mind about God, but I didn’t go out and murder people or whatever you think Levi’s going to do.

    I learned about evolution in college, and I think I was a lot more interested in it than my classmates were! I excelled in philosophy and physics, and today I do quite well and live quite comfortably.
    I tried to talk my parents into deconverting (atheism) with no luck. They are both still fundamentalists, but I love them anyway. I don’t let such petty differences of opinion get in the way of family.
    I also think I have a much deeper sense of ethics than most of my colleagues who were raised without religion. There’s just something about thinking God is watching you all of the time for the first 18 years of life that really instills honesty and humbleness in a person. Most atheists I work with who were not raised Christian don’t think much about lying, stealing or cheating to get ahead if the opportunity arises.

    I live in LA now, and these kids are like a breath of fresh air on the TV. Most kids their age are too busy trying to nab your wallet to tell you about Jesus. My childhood seems like it was 100 years ago.

  11. 12 Global Villager March 19, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Todd – are you saying you would rather indoctrinate children with the false claims of religion then actually try, as a society, to raise our children properly? I am sure they will appreciate our dishonesty when they grow up. The failings of some youth have nothing to do with a lack of faith – it has to do with a lack of parenting or poverty. None of which is helped by religion.

  12. 13 Alex April 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    “I also think I have a much deeper sense of ethics than most of my colleagues who were raised without religion. There’s just something about thinking God is watching you all of the time for the first 18 years of life that really instills honesty and humbleness in a person. Most atheists I work with who were not raised Christian don’t think much about lying, stealing or cheating to get ahead if the opportunity arises.”

    It must be lonely being you. So sad.

  13. 14 Will May 9, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Alex…

    Why would it be lonely to be him? I was just curious.

    Global Villager…

    You should research how the Franciscan and Dominican brothers and sisters of the Catholic Church help out poverty and familial inadequacies. Not the Catholic Church itself, mind you, but that particular group within the Church. They’ve done so much to educate and help colonize failing 3rd world countries with the love of “Christ” than you and I do sitting at home bitching about “religion”. And they never had to preach at or make children cry in doing so.

    Can’t any of you appreciate that Christianity is NOT about what the people of this film are about at all, but about love, forgiveness, and compassionate ESPECIALLY for sinners? Do a little research on what it really means, then you can critically analyze all of the aspects of Christianity today. Don’t you just hate clustering everyone into one classification so ignorantly?

  14. 15 Global Villager May 9, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Will – I am fully aware of groups with religious affiliation doing charitable work. That is fantastic, Hitler did a lot of great things for Germany too (do you drive a Volkswagen?).

    Now now, don’t worry, I am not equating religion with Hitler. I am, however, making the point that ultimately flawed people/organizations are capable of at least some good. The fact that your best example of the church doing good is the deeds of a tiny monastic order is evidence of little, and is pretty lame. I could probably list many other good things that Christians have done, also some bad ones too. We could go on forever like that but it really does not prove anything.

    Besides, I am far more impressed when people do good things in the name of humanity, not in the name of God. Those that do good for the latter do so, at least in part, because they seek a reward in the end. Heaven, paradise, virgins, whatever the case may be. Do we need Christianity to be good Will? I admire cases when we do things because we have empathy and compassion for our fellow earth dwellers, human or animal.

    I also love the ethnocentric comment that Christians have helped to colonize the third world and bring them happiness in the lord. We’ll give them God and take everything else – how has that worked out for natives of the third world? What a deal! Religion has lapped up the opportunity to go into countries, disrespect and disregard their native cultures and traditions, and “save” the people. Ha! Their lives are so much better after the cultural genocide and marginalization they have suffered. At least we can fool them into believing this crap with a phoney promise of an eternity in paradise. Religion is doing so much fine work in the third world, denying contraception in aids ravaged areas, diddling children, etc etc. Are you Canadian? Have you heard of the Residential School system? I could go on…….

    So – do I enjoy clustering everyone into one classification? No – but as members of an ultimately flawed institution they are all tainted. The world would be better off without the hypocrisy and evil that is organized religion.

  15. 16 Romulo May 26, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Jesus Camp was a totaly manipulated to make evangelicals look like crazy.

  16. 17 Romulo May 26, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    I think the children suffered no damage, because I myself was raised like that, and I am normal, still believe in God and love Jesus. I still believe in speaking in tongues and healings. I volunteer in a program to help poor children here in my country (btw, I am from Brazil, and yeah, my whole church would love the passion of those people for Christ expressed in the documentary). Also I have good muslim friends and I talk to them about Jesus. I can speak english, spanish, portuguese and chinese. I study engeneering, have a fiance. And I beleive I must give to Jesus the glory for all this, because he has been giving to my life the right directions. And I thank my parents for the way they raised me in the presence and wisdom of the Lord, that can be crazy for the man knowledge, but a treasure for the one who truly believes.

  17. 18 muushu June 22, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    I wonder what al the attendees of Ted Hagards sermon think of him now?

  18. 19 EnlightningLinZ June 24, 2010 at 10:17 am

    muushu, I’m curious as well.

  19. 20 John July 14, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    History, I believe, furnishes no example of a priest-ridden people maintaining a free civil government. This marks the lowest grade of ignorance of which their civil as well as religious leaders will always avail themselves for their own purposes.
    -Thomas Jefferson to Alexander von Humboldt, Dec. 6, 1813.

    Talking Snakes?Building a big boat and filing all the critters
    2 by 2?Living inside a whale for three days?

    Shame on these people for this!!!!

    Why do we as human beings now and throughout history have the arrogant need to have all the answers??? Why can’t we take comfort in the words “I Don’t Know”….

  20. 21 Jim July 22, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Well….I’m glad they only equate Homosexuality as a sin as bad as pride or greed. Yippee! They really aren’t that bad…only slightly ignorant.

    I watched this film and was struck by how close the manner of teaching was to living in an abusive relationship. You are shut off from the outside world and the same person who builds you up is the one who is knocking you down. There is no sure footing for these poor kids. There seemed to be an absense of physical abuse, which is good. Although emotionally abused children don’t necessarily fare any better. How Becky would praise and admonish in the same breath was really frightening to me but as was pointed out she isn’t the parent- just the leader of an entire movement.

  21. 22 Hank August 28, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Homeschooling should be illegal unless the tutor/parent has a license or permit which, in turn, would require extensive testing and education to make sure they’re following the curriculum of normal schools, teaching scientific truths etc. The kind of homeschooling that goes on in the film should be banned.

  22. 23 Rob September 5, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    The film wasn’ t all about the family. I mean its called jesus camp. So please write another review and reconsider being devils advocate, pun intended.

  23. 24 Eri September 22, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Romulo: “…I am normal, still believe in God and love Jesus. I still believe in speaking in tongues and healings.”
    Sorry, that’s not “normal” to me!

    Enlightening LinZ: Thanks for the update as small it is. I, too, looked for info on these kids. Just watched the film last night. Very interesting.

  24. 25 tracy October 28, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    a few thoughts…

    I do think the filmmakers may have tried to make the family look a little more fundamentalist, but I think equating everything that was done at the jesus camp to the o’briens household (eg harry potter is evil) is a stretch. it’s like taking film of everything that goes on at a rock concert that someone goes to and then someone’s home and saying it’s the same. I mean there’s going to be a relationship because it’s seen in the same sitting but it’s up to the viewer to interpret. Actually if you look, the obriens have a copy of Lord of the Rings, which is probably a bit more fantastical than harry potter on their kitchen table

    Also, in defense of Becky’s views on islam, she actually I don’t think denigrates them ever, in fact I think she praises their devoutness in the movie, so although many people who might be associated to her might denigrate them, she doesn’t specifically.

    Lastly, I think it’s totally untrue that christians have deeper moral compasses than others. Many of the most ethical people I know are non-christians, there are so many people I know who say they are christian but don’t seem to act that way at all, but who’s to say one’s belief is more “true” than another’s? In fact, in my little sample size of people I know, the christians make up more of the more amoral people I know. However, I’m agnostic, so that probably skews my sample size. But in any case, I completely take issue with that baseless statement above.

  25. 26 Bojoe November 4, 2010 at 9:30 am

    HBO made a second documentary following Ted Haggard after his outing – Called “The Trials of Ted Haggard” I believe. It follows him as he struggles with his complete exile. I find it funny how christians always seem to be the least christ-like. So he got to taste some of the extreme venom and hate he and others used to spew, and by the end, he seemed quite jaded. As far as Jesus Camp. It just furthered my belief that religion is nothing but a tool used for social and political control. Another good doc that has some good stuff on religion is “Zeitgeist”. The first part anyway – Just shows how all religion is a giant misinterpretation of the egypts worship of the sun. As far as the other parts, I find a bit far fetched. The stuff about 9/11 being a conspiracy etc. But the first part is worth a look.

  26. 27 K January 2, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I live in a community full of fundamentalists… Believe me, you don’t have to do anything to make them look like crackpots – they do it themselves every day.

    I just wish that they didn’t all vote here, and teach in our schools.

  27. 28 Robert S January 3, 2011 at 5:49 am

    Since the movie JESUS CAMP, not much has changed as far as religious zealots brainwashing of their children and one another.
    Such closed groups, maintaining the attitude that they, somehow, have the inside track on what is right, perfect and warm and fuzzy.
    Now, since the previously incorrect HAROLD CAMPING of FAMILY RADIO has made the “absolutely accurate” prediction that JUDGMENT DAY will begin on MAY 21, 2011, the Evangelical movement has begun to circle the wagons and prepare to be swept up into the sky on that day, which, according to Mr. Camping, has been shown by GOD to absolutely be the day of the Rapture and the beginning of the Tribulation.
    Please! If this madness was spoken under any other format except RELIGION, people would dismiss it as the rantings of the mentally unbalanced. However, for some unexplainable reason, RELIGION is granted a by and allowed to babble on about the most inane and absurd matters which society is expected to “respect.”
    Why? What sane person will suggest that horses will gallop across the skies; people will ascend into the clouds in bodily form to meet the celestial army; etc?
    These are the teachings that are stuffed into the pliable and gullible minds of the indoctrinated youth of these adults who have, at best, a tenuous grasp of reality. It should be considered child abuse to fill the heads of children with these fabrications and outright nonsense and in no way, under ANY circumstances are these ridiculous fabrications and superstitions worthy of the “RESPECT” they are currently accorded.

  28. 29 Ari January 10, 2011 at 10:21 am

    Thank you so much for posting this. As a Christian, this film broke my heart witnessing these kids being put threw what looked like complete and utter child abuse, absolutely dark and wicked. It’s almost been a burden to me. Thank you very much for posting this.

  29. 30 RABicle March 13, 2011 at 5:41 am

    Just watching Jesus Camp for the first time. What struck me was how intelligent and articulate Levi really was. It’s comforting to know that he’s a well adjusted teenager with hopes and dreams like everyone else. Feelin’ a bit better.

  30. 31 Forrest Bradford March 26, 2011 at 9:54 am

    On the surface, these kids may seem fine, however, there minds have truly been wrecked. The problems from emotional abuse surfaces years after. Christians should all be wary of the consequences of severe indoctrination. Of course one of the very first actions an abused child takes when they are older… is blaming the parents for such irresponsible parenting. (And in my opinion, they should)

    There is enough information out there today warning parents of the emotional abuses of religion. Only the pompous ignore the signs.

  31. 32 Beatriz April 9, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    I am brazilian, I am definitly NOT shouting and saying Hallelujah over Jesus Camp. I am so sorry, but in terms of fanatism, your country is WAY WORSE than mine.

  32. 33 A Theist May 6, 2011 at 11:22 am

    These people may seem extreme to the Politically Correct masses, but at least they have faith in God and high morals (see the sad atheist in the Comments above who was raised religious: and gasp – can’t rid himself of the humility and honesty instilled in him by devout parents.) The fun group to bash these days are Bible-following Christians (and religious Muslims to a lesser extent, along with anyone who believes in anything but PC propaganda). I wouldn’t want to mess with anyone’s enjoyment of assumed intellectual superiority, but most/all of you would believe in God if you opened your mind and sought proof diligently (there are excellent “proofs of God” at your fingertips, right here on the Internet. Many involve science, engineering, computer programming, etc…) It’s interesting how many people deride religion – and what used to be called normality/common sense – but they have no problem with a perfectly healthy man deciding he’s really a woman INSIDE, so get him estrogen and lacey lingerie this very moment! Counseling and medication? No! Prayer? God forbid. He obviously needs surgery (mutilation) and hormones and assistance with make-up. And no one should have standards of behavior or any idea of right and wrong, except for endless, mindless tolerance. Ya know, I used to be very liberal and “anything goes”. Thank God, I changed my mind, heart and life. I would definitely be home schooling if I had small children right now. And although I don’t agree with all fundamentalist and evangelical beliefs, I’d take them over the brave new world
    envisioned by bold New World Order atheists
    and agnostics (a world with little or no religion),
    getting closer and closer to hell on earth. I can
    only hope some people will see the “progressive” society for what it is…and wake up in time to stop it. Or maybe God will intervene, after all. Millions of people…billions, even…still believe that can/will happen. If they pass on faith to their children, however it’s made to look on a propaganda film, that’s better than the bleak alternative.

    and stop the “progress”…or that God will intervene ASAP.

  33. 34 A Theist May 6, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Last line in the post above was supposed to be erased. Sorry.

  34. 35 Lily June 1, 2011 at 4:19 am

    As a South-African citizen, I would just like to note my offense at the “jump for joy” line. We are not all primitive, lion riding folk, and most of us were just as appalled at the circumstances Jesus Camp bought to light.

  35. 36 Kris August 20, 2011 at 12:27 am

    Andre
    The verses about woman teaching etc., has to be studied out. God gave all the gifts to all with the Holy Spirit. God does not see as a man or woman, per se. So that was when women were allowed to be taugt in the church. Back then men treated woman like property. Now they get to learn God’s word and they were being loud and asking questions during teaching. So you can study it out, I am assuming you don’t want to. I have studied it out. I just thought you would want to make correct rebuttals and not say things that don’t make sense. I did not see Jesus Camp. But I speak and pray in tongues or ‘in the spirit’ ALL THE TIME. It is awesome!!!! If you dont have the spirit then you dont understand the teachings of the Lord.
    I am trying to find the Jesus camp online somewhere so I can see what these comments are about.
    I have so many proofs of God’s existence and His manifest love and power I could keep you busy for a loooooooong time. I am sorry people feel so bitter towards real christians (as opposed to those who dont walk the talk). I surely dont have a problem with atheists or whomever out there
    Blessings, kris

  36. 37 Joe Bigliogo October 24, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    The O’brien’s preaching temperance all of a sudden? That was certainly not the case in Jesus camp. Nor was moderation evident in any of their followup interviews. Also how on earth do you perceive ‘Jesus Camp’ as a statement on all evangelical Christians? It was pretty damn clear to me that this was a inside look at the lunatic fringe of hard core evangelicals—and NOT any sort of portrayal of Christianity in general.

    Also your statement “I bet if I showed the film to a group of Africans or Brazilians, they’d likely jump for joy and shout hallelujah” is not only an unwarranted presumption, (Brazilians are mainly Catholic for one thing) it implies that deep down you’re… just maybe… actually okay with this kind of indoctrination and brainwashing of children. Anyone with half an ounce of decency and rationality can see there was something terribly wrong going on there that’s not born out of political correctness.

  37. 38 Coomom9 January 29, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    I know the O’Brien family. Levi is now 19, going to a ministry school, has a job in Marketing and is a living a normal life, if you consider going into your neighborhood and helping people, and praying for them and seeing God heal them normal. Luke is now 18, going to the same ministry school and doing just as great as his bro. Hmmm, seems all that “indoctrination” turned them into productive citizens. who woulda thunk it?

  38. 39 Coomom9 January 29, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Oh, btw, they have seen all the Potter movies, and Mom and Luke have read all the books. Just so you know you can’t get all the truth out of an 86 min movie.

  39. 40 Stacie February 12, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    I just wanna say, this Becky lady scared me. You can have complete faith in God, but the last time I checked, talking in tongues was NOT considered being a good Christan. In fact many people were burned at the stake, and other awful things, for being accused of speaking in tongues. The children were talking about things many of them weren’t old enough to understand. I grew up believing in my own beliefs, that someone was watching me, and I am a normal human being. I grew up without hatred and discrimination against people of different religions, sexuality, race, etc. I’m not against their faith. I just think they were too fanatical about it.

  40. 41 Isabel Lima April 20, 2012 at 11:00 am

    What exactly do you mean by saying, “but I bet if I showed the film to a group of Africans or Brazilians, they’d likely jump for joy and shout hallelujah”? I am Brazilian and you need to get your facts right. Your comment was incredibly ignorant.

  41. 42 Bananie June 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    How much do you know about Africans and Brazilians? First of all, Africa is a continent and Brazil is a country. Those two terms should not be used in parallel. Your ignorance and self-conceitedness is quite pathetic.

  42. 43 Tabitha September 7, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    This film was made by liberals… the most caring, open-minded, and accepting people in the word. Until your beliefs don’t match theirs. Then they trash you like they did in this movie and like they are currently doing to Chick-fil-A president Dan Cathy for holding some values. Liberals are so cute.

  43. 44 Tabitha September 7, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Oh yeah and for all you people up there trashing religion. Get over it. Most of you atheists are just pissed off because you are scared of death, depressed, and have no hope. I am also an athiest, but I am happy with myself and how I fit into this world. I think religion is beautiful and people need to do whatever works for them. If I ever become a complete ass wad, I hope someone will let me know so I can convert to something.

  44. 45 szybkie pozyczki bez bik December 17, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    I drop a leave a response whenever I appreciate a article on a site or
    I have something to contribute to the conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the fire displayed in the post I read. And on this post Update: Jesus Camp Kids, Where are they Now Struck by Enlightning. I was actually excited enough to drop a comment 🙂 I do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it simply me or does it look like a few of the responses come across as if they are coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I’d like to follow you.
    Could you list every one of your social sites
    like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?


  1. 1 Jesus Camp Kids, Where are they Now? « Struck by Enlightning Trackback on June 9, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

