Bigfoot on the Discovery Channel?

Just a quick post…I PVRed this show about Bigfoot on the Discovery Channel and I’m watching it now. I just wanted to say that I can’t believe this fluff ever made it on Discovery. It’s full of all kinds of science-y things like computer models and footprint impressions, but the conclusions they draw from non-evidence are just ridiculous. How a channel that markets itself as educational can justify showing such a credulous program is beyond me.

This is the thought process that is applied by the so-called “scientists” featured in the program:
1. This might be evidence for big foot;
2. After testing we’ve determined that this could have been done by humans;
3. It’s possible that humans didn’t do this,
4. Therefore, bigfoot.

Great job, Discovery.

2 Responses to “Bigfoot on the Discovery Channel?”


  1. 1 Gary Babbitt June 21, 2010 at 6:41 am

    I saw this as a rerun a couple weeks ago and it made me think of Alien Autopsy which I think ran on The History Channel a few years ago. I think if I hear the phrase “witnesses are reporting” one more time I’m going to have an aneurism. Has anyone ever tried to estimate the amount of money that bigfoot generates in terms of t-shirt sales, expeditions, baubles, and the like. It seems that the BFRO and Crytomundo have a kind of cottage industry going and the folks at BFRO never met a sighting taht wasn’t ‘the real thing’.

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ June 24, 2010 at 10:06 am

    lol Gary…I would disagree about the sighting thing…if videos are too clear even Bigfoot advocates tend to call it a hoax! The video has to be sufficiently shaky and blurry or nope, can’t be true


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

