I Love Asparagus…or do I???

A new study done at the University of California, Irvine, found a way to make people love asparagus…through false memories.

AsparagusA group of students were given a questionaire asking what foods they liked as kids. Then a week later, they were given a summary of their results, and in half of the students their summary told them that they loved asparagus. Out of these students, some of them actually came to believe that they love asparagus. They find pictures of it more appetizing, and they were more likely to order it in a restaurant. They were given a false memory of loving asparagus, and as a result loved asparagus…I wonder if this would work on little kids?

An interesting study showing how unreliable our memories are.

1 Response to “I Love Asparagus…or do I???”


  1. 1 William Carlton May 26, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Also proof that no one really like asparagus! No, seriously, I am reminded of a study about bitter foods which found that children were much more likely to report enjoying the taste of them if their mothers had eaten them while pregnant and/or breastfeeding.

    I completely gag on broccoli, and whenever I hear people say they like it, I always challenge them. I say, “Tell me about it.” Invariably, they go on to describe a well-boiled piece of broccoli smothered in butter or cheese, to which I reply, “NO! You like (butter or cheese)! Your mother figured out she could make you choke it down with enough goodies slathered over it!”

    I love watching them reflect on this for a moment before they say, “Of course not, I know what I like.”

    Great blog!

    (Got here from Dawkins.net)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

