Hip 2B Holy

TV documentary airing tomorrow (Monday, May 25) at 9pm central. Sounds interesting, I’ll be watching:

The Protestant Christian movement has never gripped Canadians with the same force, but as a Global TV documentary airing Monday reveals, evangelical Christian groups are emerging here in surprising places – and even more surprising numbers.

Aside from re-igniting discussions of morality and belief among predominantly young Canadians, the movement uses aggressive online proselytizing, dropping pop-culture references and making a concerted effort to be as acessible as possible. For instance, the documentary introduces viewers to the Connexus Community Church, a church in Barrie, Ont., that holds its services at a local multiplex movie theatre, and uses the Internet and Video on Demand to reach its congregation.

I have several friends and family members who are involved in these types of churches, so I’m interested to see what conclusions this program draws from its look at the movement.

2 Responses to “Hip 2B Holy”


  1. 1 Global Villager May 24, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    I think that it is interesting that while general church attendance is down in most countries, these “mega churches” are growing. They are absorbing those turned off by more traditional churches and winning youth over in particular with bright ligts, rock music, suave ministers, and the ubiquitous dry ice smoke displays. I heard of one that drew them in with video games…sounds like something a rapist would do.

    These churches are a new breed, they are about money (oh wait, that isn’t new) and they capitalize on those looking for a ticket to paradise and the opportunity to be “holier than thou”. Should be a good documentary.

  2. 2 linzeebinzee May 26, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Although it seems creepy the way mega-churches lure people into their congregations, it’s difficult to be critical of them. My experience with attending services at a church of this type was that I felt that I didn’t belong, I felt that if I didn’t jump up and scream and clap that people were judging me, and I felt like the humour and the banter-style sermons that the pastor delivered were almost like making fun of people who didn’t agree with him. But that was my personal experience, and nobody was twisting my arm to be there. If you don’t agree with it you don’t have to go…although it’s not easy to stay away when good friends or family invite you along.

    If people choose to attend these churches and if they choose to donate money to them, that’s their decision. I think it’s hypocritical of mega-churches to preach the message of charity and not putting value in worldy possessions, and then you see these pastors with their massive houses and you see them guilting the congregation into giving money.

    But they do also provide a sense of community, and the new style of evangelism provides a forum for them to showcase their talents with singing, dancing, acting, and playing instruments. I can’t blame people for wanting to become a part of this, if that’s their thing. I disagree with the reason that they’re gathering, but I wouldn’t want to stop them because I’m proud to live in a country where people are free to believe and express what they wish. This freedom also means that I’ll express my right to criticize their beliefs.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

