Struck by Enlightning for the First Time

Until recently I was unenlightened. I thought I was pretty smart, but I was completely credulous. I was religious, I bought into about anything that someone said to me with authority, I didn’t know what it truly meant to think critically.

Then one day I went to see the movie Religulous, and was introduced to the idea the doubt is a virtue, and blind faith was not something to be proud of.

Gone were my days of blissful ignorance, but the bliss didn’t go away. I began to discover reason, logic, science, and skepticism, and everytime I learn something new I’m struck by how amazing our universe is.

My goal is to share my newfound passion for learning through this blog…hopefully in a fun way! In daily flashes of enlightning.

4 Responses to “Struck by Enlightning for the First Time”


  1. 1 misunderstoodranter September 8, 2009 at 10:35 am

    “I was religious, I bought into about anything that someone said to me with authority, I didn’t know what it truly meant to think critically.”

    That’s the point of religion, so that authority figures can put the fear of god into people, so that people do as they are told, and do not question them. It was never about a faith in god, it was about a faith in human authority.

    I really like this blog, because you have actually over turned my belief – which was that it was impossible to change the mind of those who had faith. For once there has been a victory for rational thought – good for you, and welcome to a new freedom – a freedom of thought.

  2. 2 linzeebinzee September 8, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Thanks for saying that! I know that some people are so entrenched in their beliefs that they aren’t willing to change their minds, but I’m sure there are many other people like me who just need a little seed of doubt. I was a strong believer, but I had never really thought hard enough about the logic of my beliefs. All it took was a willingness to change my mind, and that’s opened up a whole new world for me. It’s extremely liberating to allow yourself to admit your mistakes, and a lot of people who are religious or who fall for charlatans I think just haven’t discovered that yet.

  3. 3 misunderstoodranter September 11, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Just out of interest have you watched the film: The God Who Wasn’t There

    I found this to be pretty good – well the beginning anyway, and have you thought of doing something similar?

  4. 4 linzeebinzee September 12, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I haven’t watched that film, I hadn’t even heard of it before you mentioned it here. It looks very Interesting I can’t wait to see it, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

