The Atheist’s Guide to Christmas

I just heard about this book today, and it sounds fantastic!

Atheist Bus Ad

Ariane Sherine: "There's probably no god. Now stop worrying and enjoy your life"

Ariane Sherine, the brains behind the atheist bus ads, has compiled a collection of musings on Christmas from 42 atheists. I think that the holiday season is somewhat of an awkward time of year for atheists because there’s so much religion involved.

I’ve always loved Christmas, and even when I was a Christian I found that it was more about spending time with family and decorating the house than that pesky midnight mass. Now that I no longer have any reason or desire to celebrate Jesus’s birthday, I just want to enjoy the season for what it is: excess, family time, and an excuse to party! Tom Flynn has been making me feel Atheist's Guide to Christmasguilty about enjoying this holiday, so I’m looking forward to hearing thoughts from other atheists on what Christmas means to them.

This Christmas will be an especially difficult time for me as my parents announced very recently that they are splitting up. So this book is coming at the right time, and it provide a welcome distraction.

Half of the profits from sales of this book will be going towards the Terrence Higgins Trust, a UK HIV charity. Said Sherine:

“Given some of the comments the Pope made earlier this year about condoms and Aids, we thought it was appropriate,”

3 Responses to “The Atheist’s Guide to Christmas”


  1. 1 Barrie December 7, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Must have this book.

    Christmas is family time, sitting on the floor and having my 4 grandchildren climbing all over me while they play with their new toys, eating my 2 daughter’s yummy food, filling up my heart with the sounds of my wonderful family.

    Great that some of the profits of the book are going to help HIV sufferers.

    Over the centuries christians have appropriated many old pagan rites and rituals and incorporated them into Christian practice, its only appropriate that atheists should take some of the more meaningful aspects of Christmas from Christians for our own use.

  2. 2 EnlightningLinZ December 10, 2009 at 1:38 am

    I’ve read in other places since I wrote this that all of the profits are going to AIDS charities, so :)

    I bought the book but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Lately in my local paper there have been so many letters to the editor about how Christ is the reason for the season, but this day in age it’s so not true for a large part of the population. To me, it’s also about spending time with family, fun decorations, great food, and a much-needed break from work. I’m looking forward to hearing the many atheist writers’ thoughts on Christmas that are included in this book. I think Christmas needs less Christ and more appreciation for reality.

  3. 3 Ana Félix Pires December 30, 2010 at 3:09 am

    Excuse me while I go add this to my wishlist. Sounds like a fantastic book. :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

AtheistBlogroll5
Free counters!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

